Architects in the Sun

By AIAS | Sep 20, 2014

We opened the 2014-2015 academic year here at the BEB with a gallery show displaying students summer work. Architects in The Sun served as the first annual summer showcase of work featuring both graduate and undergraduate student experiences. The 8.5”x11” compositions were up to the individual and there were no restrictions on the type of experience. Some examples included travel sketches and photography, community outreach work, a variety of internships, competition entries, and leisure.

AIAS Event Image

Displayed in the gallery space for the opening ten days of classes, the collection was exciting in that it was a great example of the range of summer experience students have, but it was also good for students catching up just to see what fellow students accomplished during the time outside of the BEB.

We collected thirty submissions filling an entire wall of the gallery. We also ran two monitors that displayed both the Solar Decathlon Techstyle Hauus and the Central Falls Desine Lab work. The opening after the first day of studio attracted both architecture and landscape architecture students and faculty.

This was both a welcome back celebration but also created a nice dialogue about what kinds of experiences RISD students are attracted to in their spare time. Students remarked that the show is a great way to kick off the school year, and that it is really beneficial to see the other experiences people are getting. What really became exciting about the event is that students and faculty were able to look at these snapshots of work that was produced and how these experience compliment and contrast their paths as RISDarch students.

This page is maintained by the RISD AIAS

The RISD American Institute of Architecture Student is an independant organization representing architecture students at the Rhode Island School of Design.

click here to join the AIAS

Upcoming Meeting

Tuesday, October 13th, 2015 6:30pm room 106 BEB

Student Websites

Hanson Cheng, www.hansoncheng.com, 2016 B.Arch,
Rakhshaan Qazi, www.rakhshaanqazi.com, B.Arch 2016,
Sophie Chien (B.Arch 2020) Selected as a Maharam STEAM Fellow,
Sophie Chen will join the 2017 Maharam STEAM Fellows who are working in arenas not typically associated with art and design students and have the opportunity to effect real change in policy and practice in local and global organizations and communities. Her own work will take place at Providence City Hall in the Mayor’s Center for City Services. She says her work there will apply design thinking to the bureaucratic structure of municipal government, breaking down the “you gotta know a guy” culture and redefine internal silos in order to make city hall more equitable and efficient for constituents and stakeholders. Sophie plans to use her time working for city hall to build her experience in government, where she hopes to practice after graduating from RISD. Her goal in government is to restore trust in public institutions at a time when that trust seems to have disappeared. Using her belief in transparency and her ability to communicate data visually, she hopes to reaffirm the responsive and accessible capability of local government. Sophie will begin writing a blog this summer where you can follow her work at City Hall and the work of other Maharam Fellows. Find out more here.
,
Taryn Sabia, urbancharrette.org, 2006 M.Arch
William Kimmerle, williamjkimmerle.com, 2011 M.Arch
Alyssa M. Saltzgaber, alyssamurasaki.info, 2012 B.Arch
Alex Diaz, alexdiaz.us, 2013 M.Arch
Beau Johnson, beaubjohnson.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Burgess Voshell, burgessvoshell.com, 2013 M.Arch
Camila Morales, portfolios.risd.edu/camilamorales, 2013 M.Arch
Dan Laster, danlaster.com, 2013 M.Arch
Eugenia Yu, eugeniayu.com, 2013 M.Arch
J. Harley Nalley, j-harley-nalley.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Jim Bogle, jimbogle.com, 2013 M.Arch
Kyle Kiser, kyle-kiser.com, 2013 M.Arch
Maxwell Dehne, mldehne.com, 2013 M.Arch
Royce Bixby, roycebixby.com, 2013 M.Arch
Adria Boynton, cargocollective.com/adriaboynton, 2014 B.Arch
John Mars, john-mars.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nathaniel Vice, nathanielvice.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Wiznitzer, nicolewiznitzer.com, 2014 B.Arch
Peeraya Suphasidh, suphasidh.com, 2014 B.Arch
Sonny Lee, sonny-lee.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Marple, cargocollective.com/marple, 2014 M.Arch
Lucy Siyao Liu, liulucy.com, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Bohne, portfolios.risd.edu/mbohne, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Solomon, behance.net/MAS, 2015 B.Arch
Timothy Dobday, cargocollective.com/timothydobday, 2015 B.Arch
Emily Yen, emilysingeryen.com , 2015 M.Arch
Feijiao Huo, huofeijiao.com, 2015 M.Arch
Julian Uribe, julian-uribe.com, 2015 M.Arch
Malcolm Rio, malcolmrio.com, 2015 M.Arch
Natalie Kruch, nataliekruch.com, 2015 M.Arch
Rory Stevens, redesign-studios.com, 2015 M.Arch
Sina Almassi, sinaalmassi.com, 2015 M.Arch
Brandon Wang, wangbrandon.com, 2016 B.Arch
Xinru Liu, cargocollective.com/xinruliu, 2016 B.Arch
Christopher Beck, christophergbeck.com, 2016 M.Arch

Students, submit or update your website by filling out the form below. Changes will be processed by the AIAS as soon as possible

[Form id=”1″]