Greg Nemes (M.Arch 2012) Interview

By Carl Lostritto | Jan 15, 2013

This alumni interview was conducted in November 2012 by Camila A. Morales (M.Arch 2013). Greg Nemes graduated from the Masters of Architecture program in June 2012, in this interview he shares his experiences at risd as well as his current work post-graduation.


C
What has changed while you were at RISD?

G
My thoughts on interdisciplinary design changed a lot. I went to RISD knowing that I was going to study cross disciplines, but thought of it as a way to mostly enhance what I was doing architecturally.

I think what I found in the process of moving across several different disciplines and figuring out what type of work I want to do was that I was leaning more about designing experiences and interactions rather than designing a specific media, discipline or field. I think my perspective on disciplines and interdisciplinary study shifted a lot. I learned a lot from that shift.

C
How would you say that RISD allowed for you to grow while you were at the University?

I think the climate at RISD in general right now might at first seem like it is closed to interdisciplinary study, but with a little bit of effort it is easy to find your way. The school makes it possible through the places you can go and people that you can work with.

I think there is a hunger for that interdisciplinary work right now that makes it easy for people to come together and collaborate on interdisciplinary projects.

C
What have you been doing since you graduated from RISD?

G
Right after I graduated I became involved with the Design Office located in downtown Providence on Westminster Street which is a space for independent designers.

They were expanding from 4 members in a small office to 12 members in a much larger space. I worked with the architect on the project, Anastasia Congdon who teaches at RISD . We conceptualized the design of the space and furnishings. I spent a good part of the summer designing and building.
http://thedesignoffice.org/

I have also been doing a lot of user interface work, designing websites, mobile apps and a little bit of architecture here and there.

C:
What are you currently making right now?

G:
I am working on a website for Brown University which is making an archive of creative teaching and research at the University. I am also constructing a website for RISD as well as a theater company located in Providence, RI. I am also designing a mobile app, and working with an architecture firm in NY to do computational façade work on a few hotels.

C:
Are there any key questions that you ask yourself while doing your work?

G:
I tend to think about interactions and how they can be most graceful.
How can this interaction be more fluid?
What is the effect that comes with that experience?
How do I design a system to generate that experience?
I am always trying to get inside the experience of whatever user that I am designing for.

C: Who is on your radar right now?

G: Area 17 design agency
Interactive and web
http://www.area17.com/

C:
Do you have any comments for prospective or current architecture students?

G:
Drink less coffee, more water. Go for a run.

C:
Thank you!

The Design Office.

The Design Office furniture design.

Creative Mind, Brown University Interface Design.

This page is maintained by the RISD AIAS

The RISD American Institute of Architecture Student is an independant organization representing architecture students at the Rhode Island School of Design.

click here to join the AIAS

Upcoming Meeting

Tuesday, October 13th, 2015 6:30pm room 106 BEB

Student Websites

Hanson Cheng, www.hansoncheng.com, 2016 B.Arch,
Rakhshaan Qazi, www.rakhshaanqazi.com, B.Arch 2016,
Sophie Chien (B.Arch 2020) Selected as a Maharam STEAM Fellow,
Sophie Chen will join the 2017 Maharam STEAM Fellows who are working in arenas not typically associated with art and design students and have the opportunity to effect real change in policy and practice in local and global organizations and communities. Her own work will take place at Providence City Hall in the Mayor’s Center for City Services. She says her work there will apply design thinking to the bureaucratic structure of municipal government, breaking down the “you gotta know a guy” culture and redefine internal silos in order to make city hall more equitable and efficient for constituents and stakeholders. Sophie plans to use her time working for city hall to build her experience in government, where she hopes to practice after graduating from RISD. Her goal in government is to restore trust in public institutions at a time when that trust seems to have disappeared. Using her belief in transparency and her ability to communicate data visually, she hopes to reaffirm the responsive and accessible capability of local government. Sophie will begin writing a blog this summer where you can follow her work at City Hall and the work of other Maharam Fellows. Find out more here.
,
Taryn Sabia, urbancharrette.org, 2006 M.Arch
William Kimmerle, williamjkimmerle.com, 2011 M.Arch
Alyssa M. Saltzgaber, alyssamurasaki.info, 2012 B.Arch
Alex Diaz, alexdiaz.us, 2013 M.Arch
Beau Johnson, beaubjohnson.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Burgess Voshell, burgessvoshell.com, 2013 M.Arch
Camila Morales, portfolios.risd.edu/camilamorales, 2013 M.Arch
Dan Laster, danlaster.com, 2013 M.Arch
Eugenia Yu, eugeniayu.com, 2013 M.Arch
J. Harley Nalley, j-harley-nalley.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Jim Bogle, jimbogle.com, 2013 M.Arch
Kyle Kiser, kyle-kiser.com, 2013 M.Arch
Maxwell Dehne, mldehne.com, 2013 M.Arch
Royce Bixby, roycebixby.com, 2013 M.Arch
Adria Boynton, cargocollective.com/adriaboynton, 2014 B.Arch
John Mars, john-mars.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nathaniel Vice, nathanielvice.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Wiznitzer, nicolewiznitzer.com, 2014 B.Arch
Peeraya Suphasidh, suphasidh.com, 2014 B.Arch
Sonny Lee, sonny-lee.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Marple, cargocollective.com/marple, 2014 M.Arch
Lucy Siyao Liu, liulucy.com, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Bohne, portfolios.risd.edu/mbohne, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Solomon, behance.net/MAS, 2015 B.Arch
Timothy Dobday, cargocollective.com/timothydobday, 2015 B.Arch
Emily Yen, emilysingeryen.com , 2015 M.Arch
Feijiao Huo, huofeijiao.com, 2015 M.Arch
Julian Uribe, julian-uribe.com, 2015 M.Arch
Malcolm Rio, malcolmrio.com, 2015 M.Arch
Natalie Kruch, nataliekruch.com, 2015 M.Arch
Rory Stevens, redesign-studios.com, 2015 M.Arch
Sina Almassi, sinaalmassi.com, 2015 M.Arch
Brandon Wang, wangbrandon.com, 2016 B.Arch
Xinru Liu, cargocollective.com/xinruliu, 2016 B.Arch
Christopher Beck, christophergbeck.com, 2016 M.Arch

Students, submit or update your website by filling out the form below. Changes will be processed by the AIAS as soon as possible

[Form id=”1″]