Alumni-led firm, NADAAA, receives 60th Annual Progressive Architecture Award

By Carl Lostritto | Apr 20, 2013

NADAAA receives 60th Annual Progressive Architecture Award for Dortoir Familial residence located in Ramatuelle, France. The project was conceived as a central gathering space for a displaced, multicultural extended family, residence that can house between five and 22 people in a flexible dormitory setup.

Principal-in-charge:   Nader Tehrani (B.Arch 1986)
Project Manager:   Harry Lowd (M.Arch 2003)
Local Consultants: Bidard & Raissi (Paris, France), Architect and Agence Francois Vieillecroze (St. Tropez, France), Architect

For centuries, the enclosed courtyard has been overlaid on various geographic settings—each time transformed according to the climate, rituals, and construction practices of the place. A vehicle to capture the outdoors within the building, the courtyard is defined by its interiority.  The slipped court provides simultaneous interiority and exteriority—protected and private as well as extroverted and engaged. This house respects strict zoning guidelines, while merging with the landscape, extending natural flora over the roof. Sited within an olive tree grove, Pinus Pinea, and a vineyard, it seeks to leverage the sloping terrain, producing sustainable systems for amplification and cultivation. The most significant result of this integration of landscape and house is the production of a monumental vaulted threshold to a central courtyard. The vault is a ruled surface that mediates between the geometry of the supporting stair at the northeast corner, the pool, and living areas above. The main armature of the house appears as a single concrete monolith around two perpendicular beams; the first, the wall between the pool and the lower east wing, and the second, the cantilevered wall on the north edge of the house. Embedded within the spatial organizational logic of the house, these beams are encrypted within the “experience” of the house: windows into the pool, doorways from living areas to bedrooms, and views to the exterior, using the economies of opening to assure structural continuity. Structurally, the roof is a series of surface-active vaults that produce strong lateral stability. The slope of the vault maximizes the zoning envelope in order to bring in southern light, and it is the vault that forms the foundation of a green roof.  Beneath the roof are the primary living, eating, and sleeping spaces. The lower wing is conceived as a street-corridor, activated by a reading room and bunk rooms that open directly onto the landscape.

Dortoir Familial Post
render12_NADAAA1000px
render10_NADAAA1000px
render7_NADAAA1000px render6_NADAAA1000px render4_NADAAA1000px

This page is maintained by the RISD AIAS

The RISD American Institute of Architecture Student is an independant organization representing architecture students at the Rhode Island School of Design.

click here to join the AIAS

Upcoming Meeting

Tuesday, October 13th, 2015 6:30pm room 106 BEB

Student Websites

Graham Rice, www.gricecraft.com, 2018 M.Arch,
Hanson Cheng, www.hansoncheng.com, 2016 B.Arch,
Rakhshaan Qazi, www.rakhshaanqazi.com, B.Arch 2016,
Taryn Sabia, urbancharrette.org, 2006 M.Arch
William Kimmerle, williamjkimmerle.com, 2011 M.Arch
Alyssa M. Saltzgaber, alyssamurasaki.info, 2012 B.Arch
Alex Diaz, alexdiaz.us, 2013 M.Arch
Beau Johnson, beaubjohnson.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Burgess Voshell, burgessvoshell.com, 2013 M.Arch
Camila Morales, portfolios.risd.edu/camilamorales, 2013 M.Arch
Dan Laster, danlaster.com, 2013 M.Arch
Eugenia Yu, eugeniayu.com, 2013 M.Arch
J. Harley Nalley, j-harley-nalley.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Jim Bogle, jimbogle.com, 2013 M.Arch
Kyle Kiser, kyle-kiser.com, 2013 M.Arch
Maxwell Dehne, mldehne.com, 2013 M.Arch
Royce Bixby, roycebixby.com, 2013 M.Arch
Adria Boynton, cargocollective.com/adriaboynton, 2014 B.Arch
John Mars, john-mars.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nathaniel Vice, nathanielvice.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Wiznitzer, nicolewiznitzer.com, 2014 B.Arch
Peeraya Suphasidh, suphasidh.com, 2014 B.Arch
Sonny Lee, sonny-lee.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Marple, cargocollective.com/marple, 2014 M.Arch
Lucy Siyao Liu, liulucy.com, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Bohne, portfolios.risd.edu/mbohne, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Solomon, behance.net/MAS, 2015 B.Arch
Timothy Dobday, cargocollective.com/timothydobday, 2015 B.Arch
Emily Yen, emilysingeryen.com , 2015 M.Arch
Feijiao Huo, huofeijiao.com, 2015 M.Arch
Julian Uribe, julian-uribe.com, 2015 M.Arch
Malcolm Rio, malcolmrio.com, 2015 M.Arch
Natalie Kruch, nataliekruch.com, 2015 M.Arch
Rory Stevens, redesign-studios.com, 2015 M.Arch
Sina Almassi, sinaalmassi.com, 2015 M.Arch
Brandon Wang, wangbrandon.com, 2016 B.Arch
Xinru Liu, cargocollective.com/xinruliu, 2016 B.Arch
Christopher Beck, christophergbeck.com, 2016 M.Arch

Students, submit or update your website by filling out the form below. Changes will be processed by the AIAS as soon as possible

[Form id=”1″]