Student Interview Series: Nicole Marple

By AIAS | Oct 17, 2014

RISD AIAS recently conducted the second interview of this ongoing series by speaking with recent alumna Nicole Marple (M.Arch, 2014). Nicole completed her undergraduate degree in architecture at University at Buffalo, The State University of New York.

PRT-1_Page_04

AIAS: How does your undergraduate experience differ from the RISD experience?
NM: RISD is unique as a grad program because it offers a broad spectrum in through a diverse and flexible curriculum. During my time at RISD, I took advantage of the wide variety of courses offered through the different departments, and have taken courses in over seven departments, including Printmaking and Landscape Architecture, as well as a language elective at Brown University.

What are some of the more evident differences between the two programs and how do you think you’ve benefited?
At my undergrad, the atmosphere was extremely competitive, to the extent that professors would announce that only one A was to be given in a class. In comparison, RISD is competitive in a healthier way because everyone is enticed to work harder and grow when surrounded by a group of dynamic and conscientious people. RISD has provided a wide range of opportunities for design outside of architecture; as a graduate student, I am able to develop my work not only through research based work, but often through “making­oriented” processes.

PRT-1_Page_16_4

Within the architecture curriculum at RISD, there is often a dialogue, or sometimes an argument between digital and manual methods of representation; how do you balance the two modes of making?
You must find your own language in the two worlds. In my own work, I see the two as different tools that convey my intent and allow me to create what someone could recognize as a “Marple drawing.” At RISD, the traditional school of thought has developed over the years; the conflict between the two modes has disappeared and within the curriculum, and there have been more opportunities to explore the intersections of the digital and physical realms.

What are your thoughts regarding the exploration of technological and digital methods through the curriculum at RISD?
In my opinion, the three­-year graduate program is not long enough to teach architecture, design, and all of the tools that are being developed. I believe the key is to balance time between learning the tools and learning from the pedagogy. Nonetheless, many of the new courses are starting to find medium through digital tools.

PRT-1_Page_05
What are some of your criticisms of the program at RISD?
At RISD, I’ve really benefited from the winter session courses, as well as working as a teaching assistant for various professors. Nonetheless, my complaints are mainly towards the fairly worn facilities, in particular the computer lab.

At RISD, graduate and undergraduate students take courses together, what are your thoughts on this method?
It’s actually good to be with the undergrad because afterall, everyone is earning their professional degree. Also, the undergraduate students are a group of very energetic and creative people with great work ethic.

PRT-1_Page_08

How has being in a teaching/TA position at RISD has been rewarding?
The experience has been rewarding because throughout the process, I’ve been able to perfect my skill and way of thinking through setting up a design problem and thinking from a different perspective.

How is your work coming from RISD being responded to by outsiders?
People have generally been surprised; my style is a hybrid between my undergraduate style and the things I’ve learned at RISD. Because of the dynamic opportunities at RISD, I was able to develop a unique style in drawing and making.

see more work of Nicole Marple at http://cargocollective.com/marple/Thesis-Introduction

student interview

Interview Series: Nicole Wiznizter

By AIAS | Oct 12, 2014

RISD AIAS has started to conduct and publish a series of interviews of our peer RISD architecture students and recent alumni. The following is the first such interview. Nicole Wiznitzer is graduated in 2014 with degree of Bachelors of Architecture at Rhode Island School of Design. Originally from Northbrook, IL, Nicole developed a strong passion continue reading…

This page is maintained by the RISD AIAS

The RISD American Institute of Architecture Student is an independant organization representing architecture students at the Rhode Island School of Design.

click here to join the AIAS

Upcoming Meeting

Tuesday, October 13th, 2015 6:30pm room 106 BEB

Student Websites

Graham Rice, www.gricecraft.com, 2018 M.Arch,
Hanson Cheng, www.hansoncheng.com, 2016 B.Arch,
Rakhshaan Qazi, www.rakhshaanqazi.com, B.Arch 2016,
Taryn Sabia, urbancharrette.org, 2006 M.Arch
William Kimmerle, williamjkimmerle.com, 2011 M.Arch
Alyssa M. Saltzgaber, alyssamurasaki.info, 2012 B.Arch
Alex Diaz, alexdiaz.us, 2013 M.Arch
Beau Johnson, beaubjohnson.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Burgess Voshell, burgessvoshell.com, 2013 M.Arch
Camila Morales, portfolios.risd.edu/camilamorales, 2013 M.Arch
Dan Laster, danlaster.com, 2013 M.Arch
Eugenia Yu, eugeniayu.com, 2013 M.Arch
J. Harley Nalley, j-harley-nalley.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Jim Bogle, jimbogle.com, 2013 M.Arch
Kyle Kiser, kyle-kiser.com, 2013 M.Arch
Maxwell Dehne, mldehne.com, 2013 M.Arch
Royce Bixby, roycebixby.com, 2013 M.Arch
Adria Boynton, cargocollective.com/adriaboynton, 2014 B.Arch
John Mars, john-mars.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nathaniel Vice, nathanielvice.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Wiznitzer, nicolewiznitzer.com, 2014 B.Arch
Peeraya Suphasidh, suphasidh.com, 2014 B.Arch
Sonny Lee, sonny-lee.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Marple, cargocollective.com/marple, 2014 M.Arch
Lucy Siyao Liu, liulucy.com, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Bohne, portfolios.risd.edu/mbohne, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Solomon, behance.net/MAS, 2015 B.Arch
Timothy Dobday, cargocollective.com/timothydobday, 2015 B.Arch
Emily Yen, emilysingeryen.com , 2015 M.Arch
Feijiao Huo, huofeijiao.com, 2015 M.Arch
Julian Uribe, julian-uribe.com, 2015 M.Arch
Malcolm Rio, malcolmrio.com, 2015 M.Arch
Natalie Kruch, nataliekruch.com, 2015 M.Arch
Rory Stevens, redesign-studios.com, 2015 M.Arch
Sina Almassi, sinaalmassi.com, 2015 M.Arch
Brandon Wang, wangbrandon.com, 2016 B.Arch
Xinru Liu, cargocollective.com/xinruliu, 2016 B.Arch
Christopher Beck, christophergbeck.com, 2016 M.Arch

Students, submit or update your website by filling out the form below. Changes will be processed by the AIAS as soon as possible

[Form id=”1″]