Mentoring Opportunity Builds Design Interest among High School Students

By Jim Barnes | Oct 30, 2013

Meilssa Wherley Mentoring ACE HS StudentsGerardo Gandy Mentoring ACE HS StudentsEmily Yen Mentoring ACE HS Students

Each year Jim Barnes and a few RISD grad students work with local high school students as mentors in the Rhode Island ACE Mentoring Program.

ACE is a unique partnership among industry professionals — architects, engineers, construction managers, college and university representatives, and other professionals from related corporations and professional organizations — who work together to attract young people to Architecture, Construction and Engineering (ACE).  We volunteer to become mentors to high school students in a weekly after-school program and to introduce them to various disciplines in our industry and encourage them to pursue education and then careers in these fields.

This year, Melissa Wherley, Gerardo Gandy and Emily Yen join Jim in meeting with students and working on a variety of projects related to architecture, construction and engineering.

If you would like to join this team, contact Jim: jbarnes@risd.edu

ACE mentoring

ACE-RI Mentor Program Final Presentations June 20th

By Graham Rice | Jun 02, 2017

On behalf of the ACE (Architecture – Construction – Engineering) Mentor Program of Rhode Island (ACE RI) we invite you to join us on Tuesday morning June 20th at the Providence Public Library for our annual networking fundraiser. The event will run from 7:30-9:30 am. We are seeking broad support from the RI architectural community. The ACE continue reading…

ACE Mentoring

By Rachel Back | Nov 11, 2015

Once a week, high school students, college students and professionals in the fields of architecture, construction and engineering gather in the BEB for the ACE Mentoring program. This weekly activity is a great way for the high school students to reach out to these adults and ask for advice, learn about a new field, or continue reading…

Ace Mentoring – Weekly Update

By Rachel Back | Nov 11, 2015

This past week, the students took a field trip to Roger Williams University.  They learned a lot about what college life is about, and how architecture, construction management or engineering can make an interesting career!  They even had to opportunity to meet with a panel of current students and ask what ever questions they had. continue reading…

This page is maintained by the RISD AIAS

The RISD American Institute of Architecture Student is an independant organization representing architecture students at the Rhode Island School of Design.

click here to join the AIAS

Upcoming Meeting

Tuesday, October 13th, 2015 6:30pm room 106 BEB

Student Websites

Graham Rice, www.gricecraft.com, 2018 M.Arch,
Hanson Cheng, www.hansoncheng.com, 2016 B.Arch,
Rakhshaan Qazi, www.rakhshaanqazi.com, B.Arch 2016,
Taryn Sabia, urbancharrette.org, 2006 M.Arch
William Kimmerle, williamjkimmerle.com, 2011 M.Arch
Alyssa M. Saltzgaber, alyssamurasaki.info, 2012 B.Arch
Alex Diaz, alexdiaz.us, 2013 M.Arch
Beau Johnson, beaubjohnson.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Burgess Voshell, burgessvoshell.com, 2013 M.Arch
Camila Morales, portfolios.risd.edu/camilamorales, 2013 M.Arch
Dan Laster, danlaster.com, 2013 M.Arch
Eugenia Yu, eugeniayu.com, 2013 M.Arch
J. Harley Nalley, j-harley-nalley.tumblr.com, 2013 M.Arch
Jim Bogle, jimbogle.com, 2013 M.Arch
Kyle Kiser, kyle-kiser.com, 2013 M.Arch
Maxwell Dehne, mldehne.com, 2013 M.Arch
Royce Bixby, roycebixby.com, 2013 M.Arch
Adria Boynton, cargocollective.com/adriaboynton, 2014 B.Arch
John Mars, john-mars.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nathaniel Vice, nathanielvice.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Wiznitzer, nicolewiznitzer.com, 2014 B.Arch
Peeraya Suphasidh, suphasidh.com, 2014 B.Arch
Sonny Lee, sonny-lee.com, 2014 B.Arch
Nicole Marple, cargocollective.com/marple, 2014 M.Arch
Lucy Siyao Liu, liulucy.com, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Bohne, portfolios.risd.edu/mbohne, 2015 B.Arch
Matthew Solomon, behance.net/MAS, 2015 B.Arch
Timothy Dobday, cargocollective.com/timothydobday, 2015 B.Arch
Emily Yen, emilysingeryen.com , 2015 M.Arch
Feijiao Huo, huofeijiao.com, 2015 M.Arch
Julian Uribe, julian-uribe.com, 2015 M.Arch
Malcolm Rio, malcolmrio.com, 2015 M.Arch
Natalie Kruch, nataliekruch.com, 2015 M.Arch
Rory Stevens, redesign-studios.com, 2015 M.Arch
Sina Almassi, sinaalmassi.com, 2015 M.Arch
Brandon Wang, wangbrandon.com, 2016 B.Arch
Xinru Liu, cargocollective.com/xinruliu, 2016 B.Arch
Christopher Beck, christophergbeck.com, 2016 M.Arch

Students, submit or update your website by filling out the form below. Changes will be processed by the AIAS as soon as possible

[Form id=”1″]